Starting point.

Hello! This is my first blog, ever, so I’ll try to keep it brief.  I’m 27 years old with a 2 year old daughter.  I love to read and have dreamt for a long time of being a writer and making a living that way. Sadly, I have not gotten to the point where I’d like to be; especially with being in the Marine Corps which takes up a lot of my “free” time. So, I’ve been making large steps lately towards my end goal by rearranging my activities and priorities to get in some writing each day. Today, I set up my own little “Office” in my spare room so I’ll be able to focus better without a T.V. in the same room.  I have a really hard time focusing.  

So, about my future projects; i have many!  The first is my mother’s Fiction book that she wrote but never got published before passing away a few years ago due to Ovarian Cancer.  She handed it down to me to read, edit, and try to get publish. It’s taken a while for me to actually open the manuscript up and read because it’s still hard sometimes having her gone. I’m also working on a Fiction and Fantasy book of my own along with trying to complete some short stories in attempt of submitting and getting them published in magazines or for contests.  Writersdigest.com has a Short story contest throwing up 3k for the grand prize winner along with flying to New York to meet with agents and publishers to offer advice and read your work. Pretty Exciting. 

That’s it for now. I’ll post more soon!

Stay Active!

-Dan

Leave a Reply

