Clear A Path (Poetry)

And I shall fear no evil,

Whether you believed in me or not.

The time for beliefs are over.

I’ll lead myself away from this sorrow

And forget the heartache of your promise.

Discarding these shackles behind me,

I can walk on my own.

I’ll grip my strength

with stumbling fingers,

cursing with mumbling lips,

and find my own Shine

in all of this Darkness.

Leaving me to myself

was a dangerous choice.

I’ve always had the embers to start a fire,

Now this blazing in my chest is unforgiving.

I will use this pain as my weapon,

Sharpened by all of my fallen attempts.

I know I won’t walk with footprints beside me,

But my weapon will clear all the Valleys

that lay ahead.

Leave a Reply

